Free Template by Hoover Web Design

Golf Links

Edwin Watts Golf
USGA

PGA Tour
NYSGA
Golf Galaxy

Rogue's Roost
      Casolwood              Woodcrest

Q&A of the Week  April 30, 2011:

Q. What is the difference between red and yellow stakes on a hazard?

A. Yellow stakes indicate water hazards; red stakes are used for lateral water hazards. Relief for both is found in Rule 26. What most golfers miss out on is the option of dropping on the opposite margin of a lateral water hazard. An example is shown at the bottom of the page. 

Q&A of the week for May 6,  2011.

QUESTION This:

Should out-of-bounds include an option to drop at the point the ball last crossed the boundary- with NO option for playing the ball from OB (in addition to a one-stroke penalty)?

Post your answers on our message board by May 8,  or email to us at:

Mike@golfrulez.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Welcome to GOLFRULEZ!
Lets talk about the rules of golf...

What do you think about the Dustin Johnson debacle last year at Whistling Straits? How about this weekend at the Zurich Classic when Webb Simpson was penalized because of a questionable rule?

Have you ever wondered why a whiff is better for your score than a 280 yard drive that bounces off a cartpath and rolls out-of-bounds?

Should you have to play from a crater in the middle of the fairway because some idiot didn't replace a divot?

How about putting through scuffmarks left by someone who forgot to pick up their feet- or finding your ball in the bottom of a size eleven footprint in a bunker? 

Here at Golf Rulez , we certainly wonder why. We plan to gather your input about the rules of golf and share our findings with the USGA. Maybe by giving careful consideration and having an open discussion about the sometimes arbitrary nature of the rules of golf, Golf Rulez can influence the future of the game.

Golf can be a cruel game- but the rules can be kind. Knowing your options can save you strokes. Our Q&A (see left sidebar) will help you learn the rules to minimize the damage- and score better!

Golf Rulez will also explore other facets of the game. Here on the Golf Rulez site, you will be able to ask questions about the game, share stories about amazing shots, repond to rules quizzes, and pick up instructional tips to improve your game.

Meanwhile, for more information, or to share your ideas for changes in the rules of golf, e-mail me at Mike@GolfRulez.com.  

If you would like a GolfRulez e-mail account, contact us at:

admin@golfrulez.com 

Q&A of the Week

April 30, 2011

Yikes! I tried to drive the green... but instead clipped a tree and dunked a brand new Pro V in the drink. To make matters worse, I'm staring double-bogey in the face! What CAN I do?

 

The pond on #12 at Rogue's Roost East in Bridgeport, NY, is marked with red stakes, indicating a lateral water hazard. The hole is a short but challenging dogleg par 4 that requires a properly positioned tee shot to leave the player with a pitching wedge approach to a green guarded by out of bounds right and the pond left and short. In a classic risk-vs-reward scenario, a tee shot hit high enough to clear the wooded area inside the dogleg, and long enough to carry the pond, can reach the green about 260 yards away and set up an eagle putt. If you come up short, however, watch for a splash.

Most golfers assume that relief is limited to the side of the pond where the ball last crossed the hazard line. Assuming the ball crossed the lateral water hazard at the point marked 1 in the photo above, the golfer also has the option of dropping within two club lengths of point 2, equidistant from the hole in relation to point 1, on the opposite side of the hazard.

This rule provides another option for the player who attempts to drive the green, but instead knocks it into the pond. As always, knowing ALL your options can help you lower your score. Chipping to the green from the fairway is much easier than pitching from the rough under tree branches over the pond and onto the green.

Saving par on #12 just got a lot easier!  

Can I Get A Ruling Here?

CLICK HERE TO SEE THE ABOVE CADDYSHACK FILM CLIP

Banner photo of the Old Course at St. Andrews by Mike Fischer

Divot and bunker photos by Steve Berdan

Images are subject to copyright.

Free Web Template by Hoover Web Design